ANNOUNCEMENT

The Laukien Prize to be Presented at the 43rd Experimental Nuclear Magnetic Resonance Conference (ENC)

The Asilomar Conference Center, Pacific Grove, California, April 14-19, 2002

Nominations are being solicited for the 2002 Laukien Prize. The Laukien Prize was established in 1999 to honor the memory of Professor Günther Laukien, a co-founder of Bruker Instruments. The Laukien Prize is intended "to recognize cutting-edge experimental NMR research with a high probability of enabling beneficial new applications" and carries a monetary award of \$15,000 funded by Bruker Instruments. The work being honored should have been published within the past 3 years. In special cases, the award may be for cumulative achievements over a longer period. The presentation of the Laukien Prize is a highlight of the ENC. The conference program includes plenary lectures and poster presentations in all major areas of NMR research, including solution, solid state, and imaging techniques. The 43rd ENC will be held April 14–19, 2002 at the Asilomar Conference Center, Pacific Grove, California.

Nominations should include the following:

- 1. Name of nominee and nominee's affiliation, address, phone, fax, and e-mail.
- 2. Name of nominator and nominator's address, phone, fax, and e-mail.
- A brief (no more than 200 words) description of the work serving as the basis for the nomination.
- 4. A list of relevant publications (no more than 5).

Nominations must be received by October 30, 2001. Please send to:

ENC Laukien Prize 1201 Don Diego Avenue Santa Fe, New Mexico 87505, U.S.A.

Further details are available at www.enc-conference.org.

Previous Recipients of the Laukien Prize

- 1999 Konstantin Pervushin, Roland Riek, Gerhard Wider, and Kurt Wüthrich—TROSY
- 2000 Lucio Frydman—Quadrupolar MQMAS
- 2001 Peter Boesiger, Klaas Prüßmann, and Markus Weiger—Sensitivity-Encoded Magnetic Resonance Imaging

